Managed Users vs. External Users
There are two types of users in the Filecamp proofing workflow: Managed users and External users.
Managed Users
To view and manage your managed users, go to Admin > Users.
Employees and close partners should be managed users so you can control their access and permissions. Read more about how to add a user and assign folder permissions.
External Users
External users are not managed through Admin > Users. They must register before commenting on a file shared with them via a link. Registration allows Filecamp to log their activity and associate their comments and label changes with their usernames.
Notice: Only Account Owners and Administrators can access Admin > Users.
Notice: External users are typically short-term partners or contacts invited to review, comment on, and approve one or more of your files. They allow you to gather feedback without adding each reviewer as a managed user. Simply send them a file link. Once they register, they can start reviewing and commenting.
If the nature of your work or partnership changes, you can create managed user accounts for these contacts.
If the nature of your work or partnership changes, you can create managed user accounts for these contacts.
