Managed Users vs. External Users

There are two types of users in the Filecamp proofing workflow: Managed users and External users.

Managed Users

To view and manage your managed users, go to Admin > Users.

Employees and close partners should be managed users so you can control their access and permissions. Read more about how to add a user and assign folder permissions.

External Users

External users are not managed through Admin > Users. They must register before commenting on a file shared with them via a link. Registration allows Filecamp to log their activity and associate their comments and label changes with their usernames.


Notice: Only Account Owners and Administrators can access Admin > Users.
Notice: External users are typically short-term partners or contacts invited to review, comment on, and approve one or more of your files. They allow you to gather feedback without adding each reviewer as a managed user. Simply send them a file link. Once they register, they can start reviewing and commenting.

If the nature of your work or partnership changes, you can create managed user accounts for these contacts.