Invite users to comment

Inviting both external and internal (managed) users to review, comment, and approve your artwork is easy.

Invite external users to comment a single file

Navigate to the file you want to share, then click the Share  icon.

Image
Image

Make sure you have selected the Preview link checkbox in the Share file modal window. Enter the email addresses of your reviewers, set an expiration date for the link, and write a short message that will be included in the email. Read more about Share file links.

Image

Any recipients of the link can now identify themself by clicking at the Comments  icon and start commenting on the file.

Image

And they can change label on the file e.g. from Not Approved to Approved. Read more about Labels.



Invite external users to comment on files in a folder

Navigate to the folder that contains the files you want to share, then click the Share  icon.

Image
Image

Make sure you have selected the Preview link checkbox in the Share folder modal window. Enter the email addresses of your reviewers, set an expiration date for the link, and write a short message that will be included in the email. Read more about Share folder links.

Image

The recipient can now view all the files in the folder(and subfolders) and start commenting and change labels on files in the folder.



Invite external users to comment on files in a collection

Navigate to the Collection that contains the files you want to share, then click the Share  icon.

Image
Image

Make sure you have selected the Preview link checkbox in the Share folder modal window. Enter the email addresses of your reviewers, set an expiration date for the link, and write a short message that will be included in the email. Read more about Share folder links.

Image

The recipients  can now identify themself and start commenting and change labels on files in the Collection.


Remember: Files in a Collection are only references to the originals. So in order to be able to comment on files in a collection, the folder which original hold the file needs to have Commenting enabled


Invite managed users to review, comment, and approve a single file

When collaborating on files with managed users, it sometimes easier just to open the file in large preview, and then copy the URL from the browsers address line. 

Image

Now just paste the URL into an email or chat app and when the recipient clicks the link he/she will be prompted to login and then directed to the file.

The recipient will now see the exact same view as you did when you copied the URL, can start commenting and change label on the file.


Invite managed users to review, comment, and approve files in a folder

Enter the folder, then copy the URL from the browsers address line. 

Image

Now paste the URL into an email or chat app and when the recipient clicks the link he/she will be prompted to login and then directed to the folder.

The recipient will now see the exact same view as you did when you copied the URL, can start commenting and change label on files in the folder.

Notice: Make sure Commenting and Label Change is enabled for the folder that contains the files you want reviewed. Read more about folders.
Also important that the user has permission to "Change labels on files & folders" Read more about user permissions.

Related articles

Commenting/Proofing

General information about inviting users to comment via shared links:

All recipients of a shared link will be directed to a page where the file can be reviewed and commented.

If the recipient wants to add comments to the file he/she will be prompted to log in.

If the recipient is already a Managed user in your Filecamp, he/she can log in with their Filecamp login credentials.

If the recipient is an External user and therefore NOT already a Managed user in your Filecamp, he/she needs to identify with their email address as username.

This is necessary in order to register who have added which comments.

Information: Both Managed (internal) users and External users can participate in a proofing session and can comment and change labels on files. But only managed users can receive notifications when there are new comments to a file or if the file changes status from eg. Not Approved to Approved.
Read more about managed vs external users.