General settings

Manage account-wide settings for security, email, auto-tagging, branding, commenting, labels, and more.

General Settings

Log in as an Account Owner or Administrator. Go to Admin > General from the Main menu in the top-left corner.

Filecamp logo with a green and white color scheme, showcasing digital file management.
  • Email from name – change the "from name" shown on emails sent from your Filecamp. For example, you can use your company or brand name.
  • Email sending domain – Filecamp uses filecamp.com as the default sending domain. On the Pro plan, you can select another predefined white-label sending domain to reduce Filecamp branding in emails sent to your users. Pro plan only.
  • Auto tag language – choose the language used for automatic image tagging. Advanced and Pro plans only. Read more about Auto-tags.
  • Auto tag all images after upload – enable this setting to automatically tag uploaded images using AI. Pro plan only. Read more about Auto-tags.
  • Powered by text – replace "Powered by Filecamp" with your own text, such as your company or brand name. Pro plan only.
  • Powered by URL – specify the link used for the "Powered by" text. For example, you can link to your company or brand website. Pro plan only.

  • Auto log out after 30 minutes of inactivity – enable this setting to automatically log users out after 30 minutes of inactivity. This can help prevent unauthorized access. Read more about security.
  • Automatically move expired items to trash – enable this setting to automatically move expired files to the Trash. Read more about the Trash.
  • Do not encode media files (saves storage space) – Filecamp normally creates browser-compatible versions of media files so they can be previewed. Enable this setting if you want to disable media encoding and save storage space. Read more about supported file formats.
  • Enable commenting – enable or disable commenting across your Filecamp account. When disabled, users cannot comment on files.
  • Enable labels – enable or disable Labels across your Filecamp account. When disabled, users cannot view or change Labels.

Tip: The Commenting and Labels settings are account-wide. If either feature is disabled here, it will not be available to users in individual folders.

Notice: Only Account Owners and Administrators can see and edit the General Settings.

When updating there is a 5-10 minute delay before the settings update. Check the log for confirmation or if any errors occurred.
Notice: By customizing your email-sending domain, “Powered by” text, and “Powered by” URL options – along with deploying your own URL for your Filecamp – you can completely hide the Filecamp brand from your clients. Read more about white labeling.